Cliff Walk on Eigg

We stood at the top of the cliff by Kildonnan overlooking the bay.  It was with near breathless exhiliration that I found myself repeating the words several times, “It’s so beautiful!” I now can’t remember whether I simply spoke the words or shouted them.  What I do remember was feasting my eyes over the landscape and the sensation that I can only describe as my spirit singing.

17ba142414a446e087d98a50c8ce946f

Jim and I had followed the suggested walk from the Walk Highlands website starting instead from MacQuarries Cottage where we were staying in Cleadale.

It was a warm sunny April day and also ‘lambing season’. Below you can see An Sgurr, the highest hill on the island  which is exposed pitchstone formed as a result of one of the last volcano eruptions a long long time ago.

e3ed0537a2904a67a33882e171fc1007

7bfe81c6677441438c7d18ff707ef990

54d916bdb2e64fbf9ab9a91a18faf07b

We also came accross the standing stone which had been erected by the citizens to memorialize the buyout of the island.  I think I remember being told a tale in which this stone was knocked down one jolly night and re-erected and then dubbed by some of the locals as “….’s erection” to commemorate this person’s re-standing the stone after it’s close miss with destruction. If I remember correctly it was a friend of the locals but not one of the locals themselves!

0ebea40fcdf64ac4966d25410aa131c5

We walked along the sandy coast….

db7b26ccb6ed4652846510c5edbce518

…and then made our way up with cliff.

69c184c91d8d46658b957371c30bb8cf

…where now the guide was telling us it was a steep decline.  I am usually not good with heights and my husband has two artificial knees but I decided to descend part of the way to see how steep it was.  I ultimately decided it was not worth the risk but that was after seeing even more of the spectacular view and spying a couple of wild seals swimming in the water!  Afterwards Jim and I decided to continue the walk on another day by making our way to the bottom of the cliff from a path on the otherside but on this day continued our walk by making our way to the cafe at the pier for a drink and a snack…

eae8240946734b95bf869f0d83eb6436

…and another gorgeous view.

95a2d14ad43f4e4e90e5323b4694ccf6

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cliff Walk on Eigg

  1. Thanks for the beautiful views. I absolutely love the image of An Sgurr. So potent and majestic there on the land. The Earth has so many beautiful places, and somehow there is uniqueness to them, even as they also feel the same in some deep way. It is a beautiful metaphor I think, for how we are also that way– the same in Love, but unique in our expression and our movement…

    Peace
    Michael

Leave a Reply

