My Favourite Source Of Nutritional Info And An Update

So unusual for Home And Spirit, I have started a nutritional diet series.  I will be back to writing other posts about interior design and spirituality in the not-too-distant future.  However, as I have decided I needed to change my eating habits, I thought it might help those of you who also want to become more healthy to share the journey with me.  This article is fifth in the series.

I think now is the time to catch you all up on how my new healthy lifestyle is working for me so far. Like I have mentioned before, I have decided to do things slowly, incorporating one change at a time so as not to go insane or get confused. The first thing I noticed was that my energy level increased immediately when I just gave up the sugar and alcohol.  My brain also felt a whole lot clearer and less fuzzy.  Once I added fresh fruits and vegetables I felt a bit more positive and my mood felt better…not sure if that’s in my head or what but I do feel better.  Now I am not going to lie, there have been times when I had some sugar or alcohol but my aim was not be rigid about it.  I have mostly given up sugar and wine and bread but there are times when I will have it.  Giving up desserts is not too difficult but I do want a burger bun with my veggie burgers.  I have been making these gradual changes for the past 3 weeks and I have only lost 6 lbs/2.7 kg so I guess now is the time I should be exercising….but I’ll leave that for the next post.

Sometimes, it can be challenging to start a new lifestyle especially if you have been following the old unhealthy but somewhat enjoyable lifestyle for years.  One of the hardest things I have found in the past whenever I tried to loose weight was the overload of information I would get from reading books designed to tell me what not to eat and what to eat.  So if you have had the same problems and are feeling even a tad confused, I have got two great recommendations!  Honestly, these are so simple and will give you Nutrition 101 quickly and with very little effort on your part.

Recommendation number one is this great documentary called Food Matters.

food matters

You can find it on Netflix or buy it on Amazon.  It gives you quite a lot of information on basic nutrition and all you have to do is watch the 1 hour and 36 minutes video.  There are also some great information on super foods.

Recommendation number two is You Are What You Eat by Dr. Gillian McKeith.

youarewhatyoueatbook

The book is colourful and full of easy to understand information with lists and charts.  Not only do you get information about what you should be eating, it also lists some important clues in understanding your own nutritional deficiencies.  For instance, are you aware that a white coating on the tongue or skin splitting behind the ear are signs of nutritional deficiencies? The other thing about this book is that it is not a lot of reading and it’s great for flipping to the write page to get to the info you want.  This has become one of my go to books for knowing what supplements I need and when I want to put myself on a  detox plan.

There are a lot of great nutritional books and information out there but if you just watch the video and read the book as mentioned above, you will get an all round basic education and may not need anything else. Of course, always consult with your doctor before changing your diet especially if there are any medical concerns.  

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Source Of Nutritional Info And An Update

Leave a Reply

