Understanding Our Past Diet Failures

In my last post, The ‘D’ Word, I mentioned that I began contemplating how to lose weight by first listing the reasons why dieting failed when I hit forty.  So here is the list I came up with.

Reasons Why I Have Failed At My Diets In The Past

1. I tried to change my diet to what I was uncomfortable with.  For instance, in order to get down to 105 pounds on the low fat diet, I had to eat less and less fats.  I mean I even substituted spaghetti squash for actual spaghetti…ewwwww!

spaghetti squash Pic Source

spaghetti squash
Pic Source

Low-fat and I mean really low-fat can be tasteless and low-carb no longer fits well with my love for muesli and my pescetarian/vegetarian lifestyle.

2. I lost interest in exercise.  Simple as that.  Time became more and more important to me and I didn’t want to give it up in order to exercise.  Some days, I came home from work stressed or exhausted so why would I exercise when I can put my feet up or read a book or watch television?

3. I thought my husband and three teenagers would impede me.  None of them like the idea of having no treats in the house and two of them are not very fond of vegetables.  Every time, I cook something healthy someone complains. However, I now realize that my husband and my oldest teen daughter are all for me serving up lots of veggies.  I also realize that just because there are chocolates and wine in the house doesn’t mean I have to eat them myself.  I need to teach myself to have more willpower.

4. In the past, I have found dieting to be time-consuming and often complicated.  There is sometimes a lot of reading and researching involved.  I mean really, have you ever looked into the macro-diet?  It made my head spin! There is also the time spent in counting calories, fat grams, planning menus and cutting vegetables.  I hated the thought of spending all my valuable time.

Step One: Now it’s your turn to begin. Take some time to sit quietly with pen and paper and write down the things which hinder you losing weight.  Be honest, no one else has to know.

6 thoughts on “Understanding Our Past Diet Failures

  1. I guess motivation is a big reason. Motivation can be something major like a health scare or it can be something silly, like I want to fit into a dress by a certain date. Motivation is always the thing I need to stay away from too much chocolate and wine, which are also ALWAYS in my house 🙂

  2. Teenagers can be a great help if you include them in an exercise plan. I just like myself staying healthy and health is better than weight loss. I’ve kept 40 pounds off for 35 years but sometimes I heard from my patients, “How do you know how I feel, you’ve never been heavy!” Health is an individual choice, no one else can make it for you except you, but wow, is it ever great to conquer your body and tell it who’s boss! 🙂 Thanks for this post, blessings,

      • Oh I love WII Dance! I encouraged one patient to include her 7 year old daughter into her daily exercise routine. She came back the next week and lamented, “Oh Ellie, what have you done?! My daughter has become a drill instructor – ‘you can do better than THAT Mom, come on, move it . . . move it!” So funny! (Be careful of my advice, 🙂 ) Aaah, just keep up the good work, 🙂

  3. Pingback: Understanding Our Relationship With Food | Home And Spirit

Leave a Reply

