Our Sense Of Autumn

It is generally noted that the season of Spring is a time when one thinks of new beginnings and hope for the future.  Trees and flowers start to bloom,  the weather is warmer and all throughout nature there are signs of new births.

Then comes Summer, the season where many plans are made to take vacations, bask in the sunshine or meet up with friends at a pub garden.  The mood is happier, the clothes are lighter and there is in a small way, a sense of freedom.

However, it is an Autumn landscape which speaks volumes to me. There is a sense of maturity. A sense that all my hard work has now paid off. You see it in the way the rays of sunshine capture and illuminate bright ochres and ambers as if a painter has added touches of gilding here and there.  The world feels richer, deeper, wiser.  The harvest is reaped and there is much to be thankful for.  There are new comforts in fleecy jackets, hot soups and root vegetable stews.  It is a time of  year when one feels the most nurtured and wishes to reach out and bring nurturing to others.

 

 

Picture Source

Picture Source

 

Picture Source

Picture Source

Perhaps it is just me but Autumn brings out my deepest mothering instincts as well as my deepest feelings of contentment. It is about seeing small children with big smiles while they crunch fallen leaves under their feet.  When I was a child, I felt more keenly that I was another year older when school started up again then when it was my birthday.  Autumn begins and it is the season of acquiring new information, deeper contemplation and becoming more grounded.

Picture Source

Picture Source

 

Decisions and commitments made in Autumn are decisions and commitments made in wisdom.  So today, let’s reflect on this season as the season to focus on our wisdom.  What is important?  What is right?  How do we serve? How do we nurture both ourselves and others?  What decisions do we need to make?

 

4 thoughts on “Our Sense Of Autumn

  1. I’ve always loved autumn. My Dad died in autumn, also his favorite season, several years ago. Which lends even greater poignancy to the season. It’s a time when I feel him especially close and savor the nurturing he always gave me. I’ve really enjoyed your celebration of autumn in this post!

    • I remember your posts about your dad. Sorry the season comes with a reminder of your lost. For me, it is my daughter’s wedding next week. We will be in upstate NY where we will see lots of Autumn colours! can’t wait to take loads of pics!

Leave a Reply

