Preparing My Mind To Greet The Day

Picture Source

Picture Source

Today I woke up with my mind in a tangled mess.  I felt I had so much to think about, so much to plan for…so much to worry about!  When my thoughts are jumbled, I find it difficult to put them in any kind of order without pen and paper.  This morning I decided to first have a glimpse through my journal and I found this quote from Gary Zukav:

When you feel that you are in a pattern of wanting what you don’t have instead of what you do have, confront it. Realize that when this comes up you are not in the present moment…you are letting energy leak to a future that does not exist.

So with pen and paper I asked myself this question: What is it that I already have that I still desire to have?

Of course, that question brings me back to a spirit of gratitude.  So I wrote my list of just some of the things that I am very grateful for which eliminates the specific things that were causing me to worry about this morning. I looked at my list, knowing that I can easily add another hundred more things to it and realized that life is good NOW. I can confront tomorrow…well…tomorrow.  This doesn’t mean that I don’t plan for tomorrow. Planning is good and necessary but for me, today is not the day to do that. Today is a busy day with no quality time for planning or worrying.

The next question I asked myself was: How do I love today?

Our commission here is to love.  If I do that one thing well in my life, I will have no regrets.  I choose to be grateful for the people I will be seeing today and focus on ways of loving and serving.  Every day is different but that is where my focus needs to be on today.

I feel now that I am all set to meet this day. I will be spending time with difficult people perhaps but I will work on lifting them.  I will probably come home achy and tired but I will make a nice dinner that I hope my grand-daughter will love.  She is coming home for the weekend with high expectations of fun, bringing with her an abundance of energy, lightness of spirit, smiles, chatter and laughter.

Children know how to live in the present moment.

 

By the way, you can now follow me on Facebook.

6 thoughts on “Preparing My Mind To Greet The Day

  1. Oh the beauty of the present moment. I struggle to live my life there, but I certainly desire to always be present in each and every moment. May God bless you as you have blessed me, Jody

Leave a Reply

