Chalk Paint Virgin

I Was Convinced

I had put my foot down.  I had said I would never succumb to the lure of chalk paint.  I totally dislike the shabby-chic look.  I prefer furniture to be elegantly re-finished (to the best of my ability).  I had gone into my local antique shop and had seen furniture re-finished with chalk paint and it was hideous.  No thank you!

Then This Happened

Then I purchased a coffee table from eBay painted with…you guessed it…chalk paint.  It was not distressed and it looked great so I made a deal with the seller and bought it.  I went with my friend Liz to collect it and got to talking to the nice lady who had re-finished the table with Annie Sloan paint and I ended up learning some very interesting things about chalk paint and the wheels in my brain started turning.  Most importantly, I learned that you can use chalk paint on virtually anything.

The Problem

I have these arches which are part of  my bedroom built-in, cream cupboards.  Unlike the rest of the fixed units, these arches are made of plastic and these arches had turned yellow.  As you can see from the picture below, they no longer matched the rest of the unit. Very disappointing!

1409317355837

 

 

The Solution

So unto the Annie Sloan website here in the UK I went.  Ooohhh! Great, exciting website with lots of photos and videos and information.  I found my colour paint straight away called ‘original’ and they came in tester pots!  Just to be on the safe side, I bought a tester pot in another shade of cream and one in provence (for another project).  I also bought the soft wax in clear. Some very little work later and now it looks like this:

1409414811605

Pretty good, huh?

 

Leave a Reply

