Celtic Inspired Wisdom-Quotes from John O’Donohue

Image Source

Image Source

 

This morning, my reflective reading was from Anam Cara by John O’Donahue.  I have to admit, I have been reading this SLOWLY.  Every paragraph is a wealth of wisdom in elegant prose.  Today I was inspired by his thoughts on work.  He spoke about how sometimes when we work at top speed for long hours at a job without creative outlet to a point of nearly having a breakdown it is as if we have left our soul behind and we have to wait for it to catch up. It reminds me of when I worked at a place that caused me to work long hours and I still couldn’t catch up.  I had a strong instinct for a while that what I needed was a three month holiday.  That was the time I needed for my soul to catch up!

John O’Donahue also says that we stand in our own way and create a barrier when we look at a difficult task as insurmountable instead of a gift of possibility.  The difficulty lies in the image we have of our work.

Here are some quotes that I read today:

  • (On the Celtic view of time) ‘The recognition of presence and the celebration of nature was only possible because time was a window on the eternal.  Time was never reduced to achievement. Time was time for wonder.’

  • ‘Frequently the actual work is fine, rather it is our image of it which makes it appear difficult and awkward.’

  • ‘You might not love your work at the beginning; yet the deeper side of your soul can help you bring the light of  love to what you do. Then, regardless what you do, you will do it in a creative and transforming way.’

  • ‘If you do the work from a loving heart, then you will always be able to make something beautiful.’

Hope these wise words inspire and motivate you as they have me!

Namaste.

One thought on “Celtic Inspired Wisdom-Quotes from John O’Donohue

  1. Thanks for these quotes, Theresa. As one who has of late been playing leapfrog with his soul during the daylight hours, hoping to catch up in the evenings, the words are helpful and soothing. I love to explore connections, and find in his words the echoes of Walter Russell, who said, “What I must do, I will desire to do, and make an art of it.” Or something like that. I think John is saying something similar, that when we put our soul into whatever it is we find we are doing, it becomes something altogether different and new, something creative.

    Michael

Leave a Reply

