Design Affinity Part 4: What Keeps Us Centered

Welcome to part 4 of Design Affinity, a series that aims to help you embrace your dreams, passions and who you really are and inject that into your home décor.

What does it mean to be centered? Many have tried to explain the terminology but to tell the truth it isn’t easy.  To be centered is a feeling inside that is recognizable but not so easy to put into words.  I would explain it this way:  To be centered means you have something in your life which keeps you grounded.  It is a base point which you focus on which keeps you emotionally and mentally stable and helps you feel balanced inside.  When you are centered, you feel confident and often feel serenely peaceful.  It is something which you feel very strongly about.  This can be a spiritual or religious practice, your family, your business, your relationships, your goals or even physical exercise such as weight-lifting or yoga.  What keeps me centered is my relationship with God, my family, writing, caring for other people, books, prayer and meditation.  Love is at the centre of all of these,  Loving others and meditating and books keeps my spirit tuned and humming.  With centeredness also comes expansion simply because love grows.

You may be at a very different place than me.  It may be that for you it is your job or your art or poetry that keeps you centered.  It may be something else.  When you think about what centers you, what images come to mind?

Here’s my idea.  Whatever room you are decorating or working on, have at least one item in it that is symbolic of the thing which keeps you centered.  It can be a painting, some personal art work, a sculpture, a framed poem, a religious item such as a mezuzah or a lotus flower…anything that is meaningful to you.  For instance, I have photos of my children in three of my rooms and books in every room (except the bathroom).  In my bedroom, where I do most of my reading and meditation, I have these two sculptures:

meditate

The small one is hard to see but it is made of jade and it’s a baby whale on top of its mother which my daughter gave me.

When you add something to your décor that centers you, every time your eyes rest on the object, it reminds you of what is important-what fills you up with peace and stability.  Below are some more examples but keep in mind that what you choose has to inspire or be meaningful to you.

I love this sculpture as it could remind someone to embrace life with joy.

Picture Source

Picture Source

Simple message.  It can mean to believe in God or yourself or whatever is personal to you.  You can also get letters to spell whatever you want.

Picture Source

Picture Source

When it comes to lighting candles especially with the lotus holder below, it can have an instant calming, centering affect.

Picture Source

Picture Source

The home-owners below used a collection of photo art which is personal to them.

Picture Source

Picture Source

This collection of photos is a wonderful reminder of family love.

Picture Source

Picture Source

Wall art sculpture is another way to show personalization in a room.

Picture Source

Picture Source

A self-created montage of images that are important to you may be a mystery to everyone else, but you will understand.

Picture Source

Picture Source

Wall decals of your favourite quote, saying or life inspired message can add interest and drama in a room.  You can choose different fonts and wording of your choice.

Picture Source

Picture Source

That concludes the Design Affinity series.  I hope it has given you lots of inspiration to design your personal space in a way that is meaningful to you.  It is possible that having a room decorated this way can help you stay focus on what is important and aid you in manifesting your dreams.

3 thoughts on “Design Affinity Part 4: What Keeps Us Centered

  1. I loved your discussion in the opening paragraph. I think it was uplifting because it acknowledged there is no one way to be centered, that we all have a way, and they are good. As an aside, my office quite often occupies a state half way between an explosion at a paper mill and a library. I do, however, have a little sketch on my desk I made with an art app on my iPad when I received it as a gift. My wife printed it and framed it for me. These little things really do make all the difference.

    Michael

  2. I resonate with how you described centeredness as expansive. When I feel centered, I feel that I must reach out to others because there is too much joy to keep to myself. “Expansive” is the perfect word to describe this soul-space!

Leave a Reply

