‘Cause it’s a Bittersweet Symphony, This Life

These are my thoughts this morning while listening to Megan Hilty sing this song by Verve.  Video at the bottom.

Life is a Myriad of changing scenes like a portfolio of snapshots.

There is the joy of a new life;

the loss of one cherished;

the pride of accomplishment;

the despair of failure;

the excitement of attaining that coveted job;

the stress and disappointment when the job has become too much.

‘Try to make ends meet, you’re a slave to money then you die.’

We exist but we forget at times to truly live.  We often sell our souls to pay the bills, choosing to work at a job that was never meant to be ours because it pays more money.  The troubling thing is our spirits die because of the choice we made over a job that pays less but where we could have been birthing our spirits.  Our jobs should never be at the cost of our life.  This is what I have come to realize after learning it the hard way.  I didn’t just lose the 4 1/2 years of working in jobs that sucked the life out of me, I also lost the time it took to recuperate from those jobs…approximately 2 more years.

‘I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down
You know the one that takes you to the places
Where all the veins meet,
yeah’

‘I can change, I can change, I can change’

We are billions of different people but one race-the human race.  We try to live alongside one another, each trying to lift up one end of a table when we’d accomplish so much more if we each held the end of someone else’s table. We but need to empathise and recognize we are all here together and then be there for each other.  Keep our eyes open for ways to help.  The life we live then becomes easier because the load is lightened and our hearts are more open as we serve and are served by others.  Love enters in. Expands.  Bursts forth and transforms.

‘Well I never pray
But tonight I’m on my knees, yeah
I need to hear some sounds that recognize the pain in me, yeah
I let the melody shine, let it cleanse my mind, I feel free now
But the airways are clean and there’s nobody singing to me now’

How often do we neglect our spiritual time and then after a drought come to that quiet place inside where God resides and are refreshed by Love?  Why do we wait so long?  Often only after things appear to be falling apart.  How wonderful that God doesn’t turn our backs on us the way we often do to Him!  He is always here for us; breathing new life into us, cleansing and strengthening us.

3 thoughts on “‘Cause it’s a Bittersweet Symphony, This Life

Leave a Reply

