Benefits of Damiana Leaf

damina

Throughout my life, I have used nutrition and various herbs as a natural and cost effective way to treat illnesses.  Recently I have been trying a new herb that I have never tried before.  Its called Damiana leaf and it is by far the best herb I have tried for treating anxiety.  It is a shrub which is native to Central and South America and parts of Mexico and grown on farms for their leaves.

Damiana has been used as an aphrodisiac and said to boost sexual health and libido in both men and women.  It is also used to increase energy, boost mental focus, help with impotence, depression, anxiety, asthma, digestion, constipation, urinary infections and menstrual problems.  There has also been a study which suggest that when combined with guarana and yerba mate it can help suppress your appetite.  (I may try this and keep you informed!)

I have been taking it in tea form.  Personally, I love leaf and flowery teas rather than fruit teas and I find this tea to have a mild aromatic taste to it.  However, you can also find it in pill or liquid form.

Damiana leaf is not recommended for children or for pregnant women or nursing mothers.

Damiana leaf can sometimes (though rarely) cause diarrhoea, headaches, mood changes, erotic dreams, insomnia and hallucinations.

The dosage for over 18 year olds is usually 2-4 grams of dried tea leaves steeped in 150 milliliters of boiling water for 5-10 minutes, consumed two to three times a day. I only have some mild anxiety and I found just 1 cup of tea sufficient.  I also didn’t measure the leaves exactly.  I just use two pinches in my tea ball.  Even still this worked better than Kalms which I use to take about 3 tablets every four hours.

As with any medicine, please consult your doctor or alternative health practioner before under taking any supplements as there can be adverse effects when combined with other medication or when other conditions are involved.

http://www.ageless.co.za/herb-damiana.htm

2 thoughts on “Benefits of Damiana Leaf

  1. Lol I had to laugh at “erotic dreams” as being one of the possible side effects. I don’t see that often. It sounds like it has many benefits. Where is this leaf available?

Leave a Reply

