One Way To Try Out New Interior Design Looks Without Spending A Penny

Some years ago when different wall painting techniques was the in thing, I tried my hand at sponge painting a room.  I used a paint colour combination that was recommended by one of the paint companies and it came out great.  Then I moved to the UK and tried to sponge paint again but choosing my own colours and what resulted was 4 days of utter misery while I painted first one way and then another way which was less bad but still awful.  This was the result.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHideous!  I was trying to match a new impressionist style painting I had bought.  It took so long to do, I didn’t bother buying fresh paint and painting over it.  I just lived with it for 5 years and then moved again.  Funny enough, if you look on google images under orange sponge painting, you will find I wasn’t the only one that came up with this.  Those images are listed under bad designs as well. 😦

However, there is a new way to try out interior design looks without spending a penny.  It’s an online website called Olioboard.  On this website you can try a whole host of different designs by changing furniture, curtains, flooring, walls and practically anything else you like.  I haven’t been on for a while due to time restraints but below are some pictures of designs I tried out on www.olioboard.com.Luxurious with a touch of mystery Teal and Brown living room

 They even run competitions for best designs under specific schemes. Here are some I entered in for story book themes (but didn’t win).

Snow White and Rose Red

Snow White and Rose Red

The Princess and The Goblin-Irene's Great Great Grandmother's room

The Princess and The Goblin by George MacDonald -Irene’s Great Great Grandmother’s room

The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Anderson

The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Anderson

Even my daughter got into Olioboard when she was 12.  Its great for getting your creative juices flowing and just having fun as well!

One thought on “One Way To Try Out New Interior Design Looks Without Spending A Penny

Leave a Reply

